Crate cover

February 24, 2010 at 11:40 pm 1 comment

I finished this crate cover for Maggie a couple months ago and forgot to share!  We were using Adam’s old blanket from I don’t know when to cover her crate for a long time and I couldn’t stand it anymore so I decided to whip one up on my own.  I used a fairly cheap quilting cotton from Joanne’s that was black with little white paw prints all over it and appliqued her name on top in lime green with white polka dots to make it fun.  This is my first and only attempt at applique and while it went pretty smoothly, it definitely took longer than expected – thank goodness we kept her name to six letters!

Before:

Horrible old blanket of doom

 After:

Mom! I'm not ready for my close-up!

Here’s a close-up of the applique – I used a tutorial from one of my favorite blogs, Sew Mama Sew , that was really helpful for a beginner.  If you’re thinking of trying your first applique check it out for some crystal clear instructions!

My first applique ever!

Entry filed under: Crafts, Sewing. Tags: , , .

I was never really gone… New Summer Top! Simplicity 2922

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. krishyana  |  February 26, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I LOVE IT!!! i might have to hire you to make one for loki and abby! and i’m so glad you are blogging again!! gives me something to read 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


