It’s Spring! Clean everything immediately!

March 28, 2008 at 1:26 pm 4 comments

So I offered to host Tuesday night dinner next week a couple days ago for variety of reasons (someone needed to do it, we hadn’t hosted the weekly onslaught in a long time, I want to cook something tasty)… one of the reasons is also that I have an urge to get my living space cleaned up.  In a one bedroom apartment you get one living space, and it tends to fill up quickly with a book left here, a drink over there… 500 bridal magazines to which I go for inspiration for wedding planning.  These magazines are a collection of ones given to me by friends that are done with them and ones I’ve bought myself.  They are numerous.  They have taken over half the couch and an ottoman.  They are a problem.

 I had an interesting experience when I mentioned to Adam the other day that we really needed to straighten up the apartment this weekend and his response was “Ok, it would be really nice if we could use the WHOLE couch again.”  As in, sit together and watch a movie without wedding paraphanalia crowding us to one side like homeless people at a bus station, or have people over and actually be able to offer them a seat.  Hehe… oops, sorry sweetie! 

 In my defense, we have hardly any storage space, it’s a great apartment layout, but lacking in interior storage, we don’t even have a linen closet… and hell no I’m not putting that stuff in the outdoor storage unit!  But there is a bookshelf that can probably be re-organized to fit the planning materials, and my sewing and crafty bits could be reigned in a bit as well.  Basically, things will sort of move around in a circle and the change will make me happy (and Adam too!).  My new Singer Touch and Sew that I got for Christmas will have a home that is not our dining table and the geckos will be out of their dark corner and closer to the computer desks, where they will get more attention and possibly feel more loved, which is always good.  There is a plant in the office area also, so maybe they will feel like they’re in the jungle. 🙂

It’s going to be a busy weekend with all this organizing and cleaning, plus a trip to AAA on Saturday morning to get some honeymoon quotes and a cooking class at A Southern Season.  I think the end result will be more than worth it though.  I hope to feel much more relaxed when I come home from work and am not surrounded by stacks of random things all over the place, a clean house is always lovely to come home to.  Anyway, that’s the plan… Wish me luck! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hannah in Savannah! I am a palindrome – and proud of it :-)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. freundlyfolk  |  March 28, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    good luck with the cleaning!
    i expect to be impressed tuesday night. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. perhapsody  |  March 29, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    woo! /cheers hannah on!!

    Reply
  • 3. krishyana  |  March 30, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    you totally got this hon! and remember we love you just the way you are, no worries about surroundings 😉

    Reply
  • 4. freundlyfolk  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    YAY FOR YOUR AWESOME CLEAN APARTMENT!!
    and YAY FOR YOUR AWESOME COOKING!!
    that is all. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


