New Year = New Projects

January 11, 2011 at 3:16 pm 1 comment

New Year’s project time!  Yay!  I’ve got a couple things that I’ve been wanting to make for a while and while I was off work for the holidays I decided that it was time to look through the craft closet and pull out some projects to start working on.  In no particular order, here’s what I came up with:

First I’ve decided to make my first bag.  Ever.   Scary.  For the pattern I chose the Amy Butler Birdie Sling Bag.  I love big purses and tote bags and I think the pleats on the front of this one are really cute.  I’ve actually been in possesion of this pattern for over a year and already have all the interfacing, so I get bonus points for clearing out some of my stash!  I went to JoAnn’s with a gift card and found some really cute purple fabric with fuschia pinwheels for the body and two coordinating fabrics in purple and teal for the straps and lining.  I’ve been reading some reviews of the pattern online and I think that I will add a magnetic snap closure at the top, and possibly insert a zippered pocket into one side of the lining.  I always like to have a secure place to put a wallet or my car keys, even if it ends up as a beach bag.  I’m super excited about it and just cut out all of the pattern pieces two nights ago.

Second, over break I cut out three more pairs of Wide Leg PJ Pants, two are from lightweight cotton prints for Spring/Summer and one out of this adorable lime flannel with white sand dollars on it.  Because I love PJ pants this didn’t seem unreasonable at the time, but I don’t know if I actually need three pairs so one of them might turn into a gift for someone, we’ll have to see how they turn out.

Third, I’ve got two dress patterns that I would like to try to make.  The first is Vogue 8555, which could be totally work appropriate in the right fabric.  Unfortunately I’m still looking for the right fabric, I just haven’t seen anything that wows me at the moment.  The second is a Kate Unger pattern from Vogue, 1182.  I’ve already bought a really pretty navy shantung for this dress and I plan on making view A without the trim at the neck.  Hopefully I’ll get a cute cocktail dress out of this pattern!  The third pattern I’m pretty sure won’t get made this year, it’s the most advanced pattern I own right now, I bought it mostly because I thought it was really gorgeous and also because Vogue was having a $1.99 pattern sale and I went a little crazy.  It’s Vouge 1174 by Cynthia Steffe, strapless and structured and slightly scary.  But if I can find a great fabric and work up the gumption to try boning, piping, pleats and darts all on the same dress I think it’ll be seriously sassy.  We’ll see about that one.

Fourth, I’ve been wanting to make a quilt for a while and I’ve got a finished quilt top in my craft room that I’ve been meaning to finish.  It’s a crib sized quilt made from charm squares out of some really cute flannel prints.  Why I decided to make my first quilt out of flannel I’ll never be able to explain.  Anyway, I think it’s the perfect size for my first foray into machine quilting and hopefully I’ll be able to whip it up sometime in the near future and add it to the finished project pile.  I’ve also got an entire bundle of Joel Dewberry fabric in the Cool Stream palette from his Modern Meadow collection that I’m planning on turning into a Mixtape Quilt from Oh Fransson for our living room.

Lastly,  I have several costume patterns that I haven’t put to use yet and I’ve pretty much decided that I’m going to make our Halloween costumes this year.  Unfortunately at the moment I’m not super excited about any of my options, I’ve got a 50’s Poodle Skirt, a Medieval Dress that I really like, I’m just not sure about for Halloween, and a Renaissance Dress of questionable accuracy and style.  They all have something that interests me, but none of them are calling out to me at the moment.  Oh well, I’ve definitely got a few months until I have to make a decision.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Sewing. Tags: , , , .

I’ve learned… Pattern Review: Amy Butler Birdie Sling

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. krishyana  |  February 1, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I’m behind on your blog!! That is not good at all! I like your new year= new projects, you can do it!! i know you can and I can hardly wait to see what creativity will be blooming this year from you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives